WalkExplorer

Walks Around You

Criccieth - Llanystumdwy - Afon Dwyfor Walk

WalkExplorer

Criccieth is a town. It was granted its borough charter in 1284. However, Criccieth is the size of a village, so it is quite easy to walk around and navigate without getting lost! What does the word Criccieth mean? The original name and meaning is lost in the mists of time; however some believe it is a corrupted form of Craig Câs, which means 'Heather Rock' in Welsh. 

Criccieth Castle, standing on its headland between two beaches, is a prominent North Wales landmark. It is also a landmark historic site, one of those rare castles with a foot firmly in both camps and a true testament to the varying fortunes of war. Criccieth's history is deeply entwined in the medieval conflict between Wales and England. Originally a stronghold of the native Welsh princes, Criccieth was later annexed and added to by the English monarch, Edward I. Both sides obviously had a high regard for Criccieth's strategic siting, on a rocky peninsula overlooking Tremadog Bay. The core of the castle (a powerful twin-towered gatehouse) is Welsh, built by Llywelyn the Great probably between 1230 and 1240. The gatehouse is unique amongst Llwelyn's castles; he may well have copied an English model. The castle was taken by Edward's forces in 1283 and extensively refortified, which included adapting a tower for use by a catapult or stone-throwing 'engine'. The improvements were put to the test a decade or so later when the castle had to withstand a long siege by the Welsh, during which supplies were brought in by ship.  Its fate was sealed in 1404 when the Welsh leader Owain Glyn Dwr captured and burnt the castle (even today, the walls still bear evidence of scorching). Its romantic ruins have attracted artists like J M W Turner, who used the castle as a backdrop for his famous painting of storm-wrecked mariners.

Check there is no high tide before walking between Waymarks 3 and 5.

Boots are recommended on this walk as it can be very muddy beside the river and at Waymark 10.

Try the Criccieth - Llanystumdwy - Afon Dwyfor walk out on the FREE WalkExplorer app for iPhone. This walk will be on the Android app soon.

Other nearby Walks

Cadair Idris by the Fox's Path
Bontddu - Tal-y-bont via the Old Road
Snowdon Summit via the Miners' and Pyg Tracks
Criccieth - Llanystumdwy - Afon Dwyfor
Nefyn - Porth Dinllaen - Morfa Nefyn - Nefyn
Furnace - Nant Einion - Furnace
Abergynolwyn - Foel Y Geifr - Abergynolwyn
Llynau Greggan from Ty Nant
Rhydyronen - The Tarren Ridge - Abergynolwyn
Sylfaen - Gollod - Cerrig y Cledd - Sylfaen
Near Talybont - car park - Pont Scethin - car park
Cwm Nantol Waterfall - River Walk - Cwm Nantol
Dolwyddelan and the Castle
Tanygrisiau - Mines of Moelwyn Mawr - Stwlan Dam - Tanygrisiau
The Viewpoint - Llyn Tecwyn Uchaf - Llyn Tecwyn Isaf - Viewpoint
Capel Curig - Moel Siabod - Capel Curig
Nantmor - Cwm Bychan - Sygun Copper Mines - Beddgelert
Morfa Bychan
Pen-pass - Snowdon - Llanberis
Beddgelert - Gelert's Grave - River Glaslyn - River Colwyn
Pen-y-benglog - Llyn Idwal - Devil's Kitchen - Pen-y-benglog
Aber Falls Circular
B4417 - Tre'r Ceiri - B4417
Llangefni - The Dingle - Llangefni
Llangefni - Cefni Reservoir - Llangefni
Porth Swtan to Ynys y Fydlyn and Mynydd y Garn

If you'd like to find out more join us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

WalkExplorer: produced by Kenjun; iPhone App developed by Abraxor.

Want to download the FREE WalkExplorer app for your iPhone or Android phone?
Get it hereā€¦!

WalkExplorer WalkExplorer